Currently Coveting: Leather Visors

skingraft leather visors

For those who are blissfully unaware, Boston has been downright tropical lately in an extended heatwave, with no end in sight. Amidst slathering on SPF 100 and watching sunglasses melt down my nose, my need for something that can shield my eyes from the glare and shade the bits of my face most prone to burns is becoming increasingly urgent. Snapbacks and wide-brimmed hats do not offer proper ventilation for temperatures in the 90s, and anything in a straw variety feels cliché. What could be more practical than a visor? Combined with the impracticality of summer leather, this item has quickly moved to the top of my want list. Luckily, there are a wide range of styles to choose from.

Skingraft
Skingraft, aka the one that started the obsession. I spotted it browsing their summer sale on my phone early one morning. By the time I was fully awake and went to pull it up on my laptop for a closer look, the visor had sold out. The search was officially on. [Skingraft Vice Leather Visor, pictured above, sold out]

Larissa Hadjio
larissa hadjio visorsClassic or with a twist. The designer’s cat ear version offers just the right touch of whimsy without going overboard on the twee. [Larissa Hadjio Classic and Cat Ear Visors, 188 GBP]

Zana Bayne
zana bayne riding cap

For the daring. While fashion harnesses have gone mainstream, Zana Bayne remains the standard. Her take on the visor – er, ride cap – incorporates her signature heavy hardware and a hint of kink. [Zana Bayne Ride Cap, $260, and unpictured Woven Visor, $125]

Gigi Burris
gigi burris visor

Feeling luxurious? If sporty visors are not your thing, the silk chiffon scarf on this milliner’s creation gives it a retro glam vibe. [Gigi Burris Jackie Visor, $490]

Fleet Ilya
fleet ilya visors

The perfect fit. With a wide variety of colors in both basic and racer back styles, you’re bound to find one that suits your taste. [Fleet Ilya Visors, $272-408]

This entry was posted in daily covet, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Currently Coveting: Leather Visors

  1. mpchouchou says:

    Ahhh these remind me of the visors Sarah, from Style on the Couch (have you been to her site? a must, you would love it) so often wears! She has a pretty traditional vibe, and then throws something like this in and just tosses me for a loop, in a good way.

    Like

    • holleigh says:

      Yes! I think I pinned one of her pictures in the Fleet Ilya visor. The hardware on hers is slightly different than the ones in their online shop now, and I was really hoping to find one just like it.

      Like

Leave a comment